Cleaning My Room

The other day I decided to start cleaning out my room. As a kid (well I still am a kid but that’s besides the point), I would hoard old school work, random notes I wrote to myself as reminders, torn socks that my parents constantly told me to throw out, and several short stories that I never want another soul to read (really bad fan-fictions). After tossing the things I’d hoarded from grades four to eleven off of my book shelf, I almost felt…free. It was as if those memories of bad report cards, and rants about fights I had with my friends were gone. I’d let go of all the things that seemed to occasionally pop back into my life and cause me to remember those somewhat depressing childhood memories (I was bullied in early elementary school).
The reason I had to clean off my bookshelf in the first place, was because one of the shelves had fallen due to all the weight it was under.
I guess you could the bookshelf was a metaphor, it was representing all things I was holding on to that were putting some sort of pressure on me.
Now that those things are gone, I’m no longer under that pressure. I am light as a feather, and I’m ready to begin a new stage in my life.
Today, I started emptying out my dresser. I got the same feeling again but yet, somehow it was a little different. I was almost excited to toss the old clothes from my drawers and onto my bed. I was practically flinging them around, and I started building a mountain out of them. I even quoted Jay Gatsby, from the novel by F. Scott Fitzgerald, “I have a man who sends me shirts from Europe.” I was actually enjoying the release.
When I was younger, I used to dread having to clean my room but now it seems as though it is another sign that I’m growing up. Growing up means, letting go, and as I’ve also learned recently sometimes means saying goodbye. However, though goodbye is a sad thing, it’s never forever. Letting go, and moving on are all apart of life. If you never move on, you’ll never mature, and you’ll never grow.
I sound so old…I guess life does that to you. I still can’t believe I learned this just by cleaning my room.

Leave a Reply

