My First Limerick

Tonight, I decided that before I went to bed I’d try and write a limerick. I’ve never written one before…actually I’m not sure how but I thought, “Eh, why not?” And so began my re-education, on what in fact a limerick was, and how it worked. Before I began, all I remembered about limericks, from Ninth Grade English, was that they were a form of poetry that followed a specific rhythm. However, I didn’t remember what the rhythm was, or how it worked, and everything else I knew about limericks…was basically nothing at all. “This is going to be…um fun?” Was what popped into my head as I looked at the webpage holding the information I required. The title fit perfectly, “How to Write a Limerick.” From what I had learned thus far, a limerick consists of five lines, and those five lines followed the pattern AABBA. For a brief moment I said the pattern to myself, naming each line on my finger. Basically, the A lines, which are lines one, two and five, all rhyme, and the B lines, lines three and four, rhyme. Once this was drilled into my brain, I read on. What I learned next was that the A lines, and B lines had specific rhythms that they followed. “So many patterns.” I thought while again drilling them into my head. “Da Dum Da Da Dum Da Da Dum,” was the rhythm for the A lines, and the rhythm for the B lines were, “Da Dum Da Da Dum.” It seemed pretty basic, once I started clapping it as I said it, as I am a very right brained person. As instructed by the webpage, I was to pick a one syllable name. I decided to use the name Jane, then followed the example they were giving me.

There once was a girl named Jane.

Next I was instructed to come up with words that rhymed with the name I had chosen. “Lane, bane, insane, main, cane, rain, slain, Ukraine, humane, obtain, terrain…” I decided to rhyme Jane with Lane.

That lived on Rosemary Lane.

After that, I was on the B lines, where the story would take place. I decided that I would have Jane sing.

Miss Jane loved to sing,

Such sweet little things.

And her voice was far from plain.

Once I was finished, I looked at my work with a sense of joy. I had written a limerick. It felt good to know, that I had tried something new. In the end, I was glad that I had found that webpage that had originally given me the idea. If you’d like to write a limerick yourself, here’s the link http://poetreecreations.org/how-to-write-a-limerick/

Now, here is the finished product of my first limerick:

There once was a girl named Jane,

That lived on Rosemary Lane.

Miss Jane loved to sing,

Such sweet little things.

And her voice was far from plain.

 Special thanks to poetreecreations.org.

 

Goodnight,

 

Orion.

Leave a Reply

