First Day Back: My Parents Don’t Understand and Advice

So today was my first day back at school. It went by a lot faster than I originally thought it would. It was almost as if I’d never left. This year so far my courses seem great…however my parents do not seem to understand that the courses that I am taking are in order for me to get a Bachelor of the Arts and then later move on into the field of teaching.  I’ve tried constantly to explain this to them, and they don’t seem to be getting my point. They think that I should be applying for the concurrent program, not spending possibly seven years in university. Personally, I feel that doing this the old fashioned way, is more beneficial for me. I don’t need to stress out over what courses I am taking, and all I have to do is focus on having my work completed and handed in on time (done properly as well). This constant debate over what I am doing with my future education is actually starting to get to the point where I don’t even want to try and argue with them anymore. I understand that my parents probably wont like their child being a writer on the side while in school, but I feel like they should just deal with it and let me do my own thing now that I’m older. Yes I am still living at home, but its my future right? What I decide to do from this point on really shouldn’t be up to them.

Other than that my first day back as a senior breezed by pretty quick. I can’t believe I’m so old. I mean, I’ve changed so much from when I started high school, to now. When I look back, I wonder why I was ever that insecure? Why did I care about what other people thought of me? Five years ago I finally spoke out and stood up for myself. Today I’m expressing myself through my writing mainly, but I’m strong enough to stand up and tell people what I think rather than just sitting there in the corner afraid that I might do something stupid.

Here’s a little word of advice for those of you who are starting high school. Don’t bother trying to fit in. Be yourself, because that’s the only time you’ll ever be happy.

Trust me… I’ve been there.

 

Signed wise, old but not so old,

Orion.

P.S My parents are actually pretty understanding people when it comes to certain things, and honestly I can talk to them about almost anything…as long as its not school related. In my family most of the kids are naturally smart and don’t have to study…then there’s me, the creative wiz kid who has to study unless its a course where I get to be creative. Yes I did just call myself a creative wiz kid…Don’t hug me I’m scared. Ha…yah. Don’t judge me.

Leave a Reply

