Getting There

As I may have mentioned before on my blog, I prefer to write novels, however this year I have been forced to begin working on creating short stories.
I have to say, I have improved, however I’m still trying to build confidence in myself, as I am often worried about the length and or getting the actual story across.
My most recent short story is only at the beginning and I put it on hold for a couple of days, as I began to stress over it. I pretty much wanted to grab a bag of chips and eat, and eat, and eat which staring at the screen with a blank face like, “God help me.”
Actually, I believe I asked God to help me, and to have mercy upon my soul while forming the idea in my head.
You see, this short story is to be read by universities and looked at by famous local authors. So just try to imagine the amount of pressure you’d be under if you were trying to not only impress local authors but university professors and also get money to help pay for your schooling.
I’m just saying, it’s pretty intense. Wow I feel so loose today writing this. Ha, this is different.
Anyways, I’ll be working on my short story again today. Hopefully I can stop feeling so nervous. I mean, I’m sure it will be fine, and I’ll be getting it looked at by my teacher and will be having it edited by my peers. I don’t feel like I have anything to worry about…. I refuse to bail this time.
Two years ago I meant to enter this competition and I chickened out. I’m going to do it. I won’t talk myself out of it again.
I needed to get this off my chest. I haven’t written a length post in a while, so this is nice. A little venting is great, especially in these situations.

Well happy reading/blogging to everyone.
Hope you all have a great week.
I’ll be sure to update you…I swear I won’t bail out this time!

Orion.

By the way, I forced myself not to edit this… I have homework and well, if I take the time to edit this instead of working on mu entry and doing my homework then I’d be wasting time, which I sort of already did by writing this post.

Leave a Reply

