Are You Nervous?

Today a friend of mine asked if I felt nervous about graduating high school.
My answer to her was, “No. Actually, I’m ready to get out of here.”
She looked at me with a surprised expression, as I explained to her that I felt that my time in high school was over and that I was ready for what university life and beyond had in store for me.
Often when we have discussions about my future plans, my parents say that I have my entire life ahead of me to think about these things (buying a house, marriage, etc.), however, like all teenagers believe, I don’t think they understand.
Yes, I have planned out a lot of my future, and though I’ve been told that knowing what I want to do with my life, and having such a plan is uncommon for people of my age, I think it is good to set a course for myself. By knowing which path I want to take now, I am able to get the directions early. Because of this, I know that if I happen to hit a bump in the road, there are still many other ways for me to get to where I want to be. I have no doubt in my mind that I will reach my planned destination, and even if I have to make a few stops along the way, it won’t bother me, for I know where I’m headed.
There are things that I do get worried about, such as living on my own, the well-being of my family and my friends, and finding a summer job. I thank God that I realized what career path I wanted to take at a young age. It’s just one thing less to worry about, and it grants me peace in one of the most important areas of my life.
No, I’m not nervous about what lays before me after I leave high school. I’m excited to see what’s in store for me. I’m ready to have that full sense of freedom. I’m ready to enter into a new atmosphere and have a change of scenery. Yes I know that it is rare for someone my age to feel this way, especially with universities checking into my mid-term marks, but honestly I know that I’ll be perfectly fine. I’m completely at ease with this whole university thing.
Please feel free to share your experiences about leaving high school, or moving out with me. I’m very interested in hearing the thoughts that other people had. Also if you are able to sum up how you felt/feel about leaving high school into 140 characters, send me a tweet @OrionRyder.

4 thoughts on “Are You Nervous?

    • Ha, ha. I’ve never really thought of the future as scary. I think the unknown adventures that lay ahead are actually quite intriguing. I mean, for all we know animals will fly in tiny planes and speak using special collars. Houses will go UP into the air, carried by thousands of balloons… 😛

  1. I recently found a photo with my friend on graduation day. Honestly, high school didn’t have the impact that college did. For some reason, the day I graduated from college was one of the happiest in my life.

    That being said, the period of time that followed was one of the hardest in my life. I had a hard time finding a path for the next five years or so. I was poor, frustrated and hard on myself. But looking back now, that journey was great and I am glad I had it. It made me realize what was most important to me and how to improve my life to get it.

    It’s great that you have a path. It will keep you focused. It’s like a recipe. But like anything in life, try to leave some room for flexibility. Things happen, times change, you change, and you may discover that there is more than one way to get to the place we call “happiness.” Determination and focus are good qualities, but so are adaptability and improvisation. If you have them all, you are likely to be satisfied with the next part of your life. Good luck!

    • Thank you for sharing this with me. 🙂
      It’s true it’s always good to be able to adapt to knew situations and environments. I hope my experience will be great, especially since I’m going to be doing what I’ve always wanted to do since I was young. I feel as if now I’m this much closer to my dream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

