Goodbyes: The End of Both Writer’s Club, and High School

Over the last year, I have grown a lot as a writer. I’ve broken out of my shell and joined groups where I can spend time with other writers, doing exercises, editing, and learning about new competitions. The experience has be great, and it has helped me meet so many extraordinary people. It even helped me build a strong relationship with some of my teachers, whom of which now I trust quite a lot, and will greatly miss when I leave this small school of mine.

This week, we heard that the club would be dwindling down, as the year is coming to an end. Exams are, unfortunately much closer than we want to believe.

It’s still hard to believe that four years of my life have just zipped by. It’s as if I’d been sitting on a train in the subway waiting for my next stop. I knew it was coming, however it happened all so suddenly. Thankfully, unlike a subway train, the memories I made are not a blurred image in a window. These memories are so clear, it is as if they happened yesterday.

If only there were some way to say, “Goodbye,” without it meaning farewell.

Though I am ready to begin the next chapter in my life, saying goodbye will still feel odd. It’s as if somewhere inside of me, I think that after I walk out those doors and get on the bus for the final time, that I’ll be back again the next day….I loved my time as this little school. I have no regrets. I wouldn’t do a thing different. High school was absolutely perfect, and the memories I made during these last four years, will always be remembered in my heart as something worth cherishing.Image

I do hope that in university there will be some sort of group for writers, where I can go and meet those who have similar interests as me. I hope that I made an excellent, strong group of friends like the ones I will be finishing with. I will do my best not to crawl back into my shell, and let my presence be known. In order for these wishes of mine to become a reality, I must take small baby steps and make the first move.

While I am away, I will try and start up a list of advice to give to my younger sister, as she will need it quite soon after. It will be strange not having her storm around the house while getting ready in the morning (she isn’t a morning person). Well, I’m sure that I will get used to the changes eventually.

Till next time,

 

Orion.

Feel free to follow me on twitter

Leave a Reply

