Videos on Writing

I really wanted to share this video Unusual Writing Tips that I found on YouTube. Throughout the week I tend to do research for my novel or check out articles, books and videos on how to improve my writing (or just to make sure I’m on the right track).

This video is short and simple and some of the tips in it I use myself, such as the giving your characters faces tip. However, I draw mine…maybe I’ll share some of these drawings sometime soon, I’ve got a whole pile.

Anyway it’s worth watching it’s almost 5 minutes like but some of these sorts of videos are 12 – 20 minutes long.  

This video, also by Andrea is on Characterization. A lot of the tips that she gives here in this video are things that I myself do. I have done blog posts in the past on characterization and the importance of your characters name. I tend to put a lot of effort into my characters because I want to know them like we’ve been friends for over ten years or something.

Okay so here is another video on Villains. I really enjoyed this video, it had some very interesting tips and insights on how to create a good villain for your story. A couple of the things that Shadevlog mentioned I hadn’t ever thought of however I was really happy when she said her point about how one even in reality does not make someone turn super evil or decide to do something because instantly I thought of Batman.

In so many Batman comics and films and in the cartoons, Bruce Wayne and almost all of the villains have one traumatic incident that makes them decide on whether or not they are going to become good or evil. In my opinion there’s got to be more to the story than that. I’m sorry but Brucie, your parents were killed and in many different scenarios you came across a bat…or several bats. But why did that make you become a 40 year old man that drives around at night looking for crime?

Is this what it means to have a mid-life crisis..? 

I don’t know. I never really got into Batman anyway. 

This next video is called How to Write a Great First Chapter. This is an excellent video to watch because Ellen Brock as an editor knows a lot about what it is that writers should and should not do when it comes to their opening chapters. In this video Ellen talks about introducing the catalyst, types of conflict (internal was her example), and setting the tone and she goes over the basics of writing your first chapter in a straightforward way. 

So I might share so more of these tips of videos later on, since I love to share my findings with fellow writers. 

Hope that everyone is having an awesome week so far. Also feel free to let me know of any books or videos or articles that you really enjoyed that have to do with writing. 

 

Leave a Reply

