National Novel Writing Month: Quick Writing Tip

I didn’t know that there was a website for National Novel Writing Month…so when I found out I thought, well why not join it and check it out. I’ll be sure to give it a review later once I’ve explored it. I think a community where writers are able to support one another is absolutely fantastic. Actually, I was invited to join a writing community at my school…I just haven’t attended any of the meetings yet…as I don’t know where it is exactly and I’m weird about sharing my novels with people.

I was given a word of advice from a Canadian author last year at a workshop I attended (my first workshop actually), and she told us, “Never let anyone read your rough draft before it’s complete.”

When she said that I was kind of shocked. I thought to myself, “But I used to do that all the time?” at that point I limited sharing my novels to my younger sister.

She then continued to say, “When people give you feedback before it’s complete you start writing for them, and stop writing for yourself.”

I knew at that moment that she was right. Whenever I had written things in the past and had gotten feedback from people, I took their suggestions. My novel wasn’t complete yet…and when it was things got even more complex because I was unable to satisfy all these people’s suggestions. I was no longer happy with my work. That’s why it took my nearly 7 years to say, “Okay…we’re moving on to something new.”

I was trying to edit the official version of that said novel…but I was working on other ones as well including sequels to the novel. There are…what, 6 books? I had so much free time as a kid. I mean I guess I’m still a “kid,” but I’m a busier kid now that I’m in university.

Well just thought I’d share this link…didn’t think I’d end up writing this much.

Who else is excited for the weekend?

http://nanowrimo.org/

Leave a Reply

