Novel Update: Writer’s Block Has Been Defeated!

Yep, it is true. I’ve finally punched writer’s block in the face!

After arriving at university (as some of my earlier followers may know), the new atmosphere and being on my own for the first time caused me to lose my…I guess the drive that I had while working on my novel. The last time I worked on it was my first week here at university, and that was August. Finally in the last few days of February I opened up my novel, and with the help of my sister, I began a new chapter.

Though writer’s block is horrible, and it was my first time actually dealing with it, the experience allowed me to further my research for my novel, rather than rush into everything all at once. I also reviewed notes that I made for my novel, and revised them. I feel as though I have more knowledge on the world of my novel now, than I did when I began writing it a year ago.

It’s still incredible to think that my novel is now a year old. I don’t believe that I’ve spent that much time with a novel. I believe deep in my heart that this one is going to be the one that I share with the world. I’m looking forward to the day when it is published. I designed the cover a year ago, and I still love it…however, I’m not entirely sure if I will have someone recreate it or if I will try to do it myself. Anyway, that is something that I can think about once the novel is complete.

After going through writer’s block for the very first time, I think that my advice to those who are going through it is, instead of beginning a new project, expand on your current one. Do some research, review whatever notes you’ve made…like maybe a character’s personality. It’s a good way to sort of take your novel and see how it’s developed so far.

Happy almost Friday everyone!

— O. Ryder

Leave a Reply

