Novel Update and a Tip

Yep it’s that time again! Another update.

I forced my pencil to that paper and I wrote stuff!

star-wars-dance2

This pleases me. This pleases me very much. I know it’s a little late but I was too busy playing “Anakin’s Betrayal” on my keyboard on May the 4th.

Alright enough nerding out. So I finally got back to working on my novel and I added a new chapter. I’m still working on it but so far I’m really loving the movement of my characters and the way the images show what isn’t being said between them. Their actions do all of the work here and it’s fantastic. I’ve been working hard to write a scene with minimum dialogue. Dialogue is my strong point so this is like…just a huge accomplishment for me as a writer. Garsh it’s just so purty!

I know I sound really lively at 9 in the morning but I had a pretty sugary breakfast. If you didn’t read my post about eating cupcakes at midnight then you may not know this…but I get hyper really fast and when I do I just go on and on and on and on…kind of like a 5 year old at a birthday party. Same thing.

Anyway, here is my tip for those who have also struggled (or are still struggling) with writing more descriptive scenes, read a passage from a novel you like that has a lot of description. Then pick out what it is you like (you can do this mentally or actually take notes. Whichever works best for you), and what it is you don’t like. If you do this for several different passages (it’s better to use more than one novel and also different authors), then you get a better idea of how it is you would want to write your descriptive passages. Now remember, without practice you can’t get better.

Leave a Reply

