Writing Update

The other day I added some more to my novel and also decided to just go through and read some chapters. I started somewhere around the middle and was sucked into the story. To me this is a good sign. It means that I’ve done my job. The next test would be to have someone else read it but that won’t happen until I’ve typed it up. I write everything by hand first. I find that I can truly get involved with my work when my pencil and I do our usual dance.

I’ve decided that my goal this year is to work on my novel once a week. I don’t want to fall back into the bad habit of only writing when I’m in the mood. Especially since last year I was never in a “writing mood”…which is something that has never happened before. Although I do know the cause of it and I won’t allow it to happen again. Now I’m going to discipline myself in order to keep my characters hearts beating. I know that if I don’t finish their story, they’ll die. If my characters are to die, it will be by my pen and not by being left to rot in the unfilled pages of my binder.

— R

 

 

 

One thought on “Writing Update

Leave a Reply

