Novel Update

On Saturday I got a lot of writing done and I was finally able to complete the chapter I’d been stuck on. I can’t even remember what had stumped me in the first place but I managed to continue where I had left off. Not once did I believe I had writers block and it’s my professor’s advice that helped with that.

My creative writing professor said that writers block does not actually exist until you begin believing in it. She explained that once you say something it comes to being. She told us that if we become stuck or we are struggling in a certain area of our work that we should simply work on something else. She explained that this was better than not writing at all because as long as someone is writing they are unable to say that they’ve got writers block.

Although I’m not fully sure about the mid-section, where I continued that chapter I am 100% satisfied with the way it ended. It allowed me to move certain characters into position for the climax as well as set up important events.

I thought sharing my professor’s words on writers block would be great because while I was stuck on that chapter, I’d been working on other projects, such as my class portfolio and not once did the idea of writers block pop into my head: I was always writing.

I will update again soon. I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

— R.

One thought on “Novel Update

Leave a Reply

