My Extraordinary Professor

My professor has asked that we write about a phrase that entered our hearts and resonated with us. He wants us to be honest and personal with our choice…and yet I can’t seem to pick out a single phrase. The phrases I’ve been reciting aloud I don’t know if they have any particular meaning to me…although I understand the context behind them.  I’m sure something will come to me by the end of the night.

I love the freedom my professor has given us to explore the text for ourselves, and find our own meaning. I love that he wants us to succeed, and that he cares about each individual student. I’ve never had a teacher this extraordinary before. One that is both passionate about what they’re teaching, and also passionate about what and how the students are learning.

I’m very grateful to have had the opportunity to have him as my professor two years in a row (going for a third). He makes me enjoy coming to school, fall in love with the texts we’re reading, and he’s taught me a lot about what it means to be a great teacher and a great story teller. I wish that everyone was as lucky as I am to have a teacher like this.

I’ll write something that he’ll be proud of. I want to do my best work, not only because he expects it from me but because he believes in my ability to do so.

Thank you for all of your encouragement sir.

— R.

Leave a Reply

