Editing

As you know I’ve been editing the first draft of my novel, and transferring it all from my binder onto my laptop. I’ve realized that I’m able to type a lot faster than I’d originally thought.

I was a bit concerned that because I had been working on this book for three years, that my writing style would be drastically different now as opposed to in the 12th grade. Surprisingly, my writing back then doesn’t make my cringe. Obviously, I’ve learned a lot since then and have made improvements to my style, however so far I haven’t read anything from the first few chapters that has made me grit my teeth. It’s actually fun seeing how different my hand has become…not necessarily the difference in my printing but the words I choose to put on the page, and the pace I create. I’ve found differences, which honestly…are good differences, and then I’ve found similarities. I’m watching myself grow as a writing, by reading over a work that took me three years to complete. It’s really cool.

Anyway, gotta keep this short today. I’ve got to be on the road soon.

Till next time.

–R.

Leave a Reply

