Writing Tip: Getting Feedback

I’ve been making good progress so far while editing my novel. Since I began it three years…or now four years ago (Happy New Year!), I’ve noticed some mistakes I made later on. Thankfully they’ve been easy to fix, since they’ve been very minor details.

It is weird how my style of writing has evolved though. I’m thankful that I spent high school editing essays for friends of mine. Once I’ve completed transferring/editing my draft onto my laptop I’m going to have some people read it for feedback. I’m still debating on the who…since I want to be careful who I hand over my manuscript to. I’ve had bad experiences in the past with certain people. I’m able to take criticism with my work, but there are just certain people you don’t share your ideas with because they have nothing good to say. I don’t share my work with those who only know how to spit venom. I suggest doing this as well, if you are looking for someone to give you feedback.

It is important to find someone who you know will be honest with you about your work. You don’t want someone who is going to tell you everything is perfect because they want to avoid hurting your feelings, and you don’t want someone who is going to tell you everything is horrible because they’re just being a jerk. If you can find somebody who will be honest with you about your work, and will be professional about it (meaning they will give you balanced feedback with pros and cons), that is fantastic!

Well, that’s all for now. Perhaps I’ll post some of my doodles later.

–R.

Leave a Reply

